The Fourteen Day Soul Detox (the complete serial) – Rita Stradling

It’s been one year since my husband Logan died.

For the last eleven months, I’ve hated Logan for how he left me.

For ten months, I’ve worked my ass off to get myself and my daughter out of the debt Logan landed us in, and we’re not close to out.

For eight months, I’ve been sleeping with Logan’s best friend, Cameron.

I am a f*cking mess.

On my thirtieth birthday, everything changes. It’s like I wake up, and I don’t want to be me anymore. I give myself fourteen days to fix my life. I commit to one task each day, starting with quitting coffee and ending with breaking it off with Cameron and finding someone who isn’t entrenched in all of the b*llshit, finding a man who’s sweet and safe.

But my life doesn’t want to let me go. The sweet and safe guy I find isn’t what he seems. The consequences of my husband’s death go deeper than I know. And, there’s a vicious stalker on my trail who believes I need to be punished.

And then there’s Cameron.

I should have never slept with him.

Starting up with him was wrong because I knew he loved me since high school.

As my life becomes more and more dangerous, he proves he would do anything to protect me and my daughter.

And, unfortunately, I am undeniably in love with him, too.

But, to move on I have to leave him.

However, Cameron has no plans to ever let me go.

My review

This was my third Rita Stradling book. After Making Bad Choices (which I liked) and Ensnared (which I liked even better), I was kind of curious about this Fourteen Day Soul Detox. And yep, I liked this one best actually. Unlike Ensnared, which is more a Fantasy / Futuristic, this book is more ‘down-to-earth’. I don’t know how Rita does it, but she just sweeps you into the life of Jamie, who is struggling after the death of her husband Logan. You feel her despair, frustration and anguish. But you also feel the need to help her pick up the pieces of her life. Hence Beza and Susan (Logan’s sister), who help her to compose a 14-day To Do list to restart living:

1) Cut back on my coffee intake.
2) Gain some of my weight back.
3) Start getting some exercise again. Yoga? I don’t know.
4) Sleep.

5) Take on my daughter’s school board.
6) Sell my coffee shop.
7) Go on a date.

8) Stop wearing my wedding ring.
9) Spread my husband’s ashes.
10) Forgive the woman who killed him.
11) Stop sleeping with her ex-husband.

12) Remember what love feels like.

13) Be happy

We follow Jamie through those 14 days, with her ups and downs in completing the list. Especially point 11 is very hard, since Cameron is not giving up on her. And since I really liked Cameron, I was kind of hoping Jamie would not be able to complete the list. Although Hot Dad Patrick on a date (point 7 on the list) was also a very good option.

In all, a very interesting read, with a lot of plot twists and turns. Let’s not forget creepy neighbour Clarke and lovely daughter Sarah. And of course Chris, Jamie’s colleague at the coffee shop and Pat, the mystery customer at the coffee shop with a hidden agenda. Yep, enough stories there in volume 1 through 6.

Four out of five stars from me. And special thanks to Rita Stradling and Netgalley for providing the ARC.

Publisher: Rita Stradling

Published: March 2017

ISBN: 9781544128412




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s