Summer at the Little Wedding Shop – Jane Linfoot

When the owner of Brides by the Sea, Cornwall’s cutest little wedding shop, offers Lily a job as their new wedding stylist, her first thought is – can she possibly pull it off?

Before she’s even sourced a fairy light or tasted a cupcake, Kip Penryn hires her services – but he’s opened an exclusive wedding venue in direct competition to her friend Poppy!

Lily feels like a traitor working for Kip, only everyone knows Penryn men are gorgeous but unreliable. All she has to do is sit back and watch him mess it up…doesn’t she?

Love is in the Cornish sea breeze this summer as the girls tackle their busiest wedding season yet. There’s plenty of bunting, bubbly and baking – but who is going to catch the bouquet?

My review

This book is the third of the series of The Little Wedding Shop. Since I hadn’t read the first two parts, when I requested the Arc on Netgalley, I suspected that I wouldn’t really matter.

But I guess it did. Although I was drawn to Jane Linfood’s book by the blurb and the beautiful cover, I just couldn’t relate to Lily. We enter the story, when Lily is just hired by her friend, and owner of the Brides by the Sea wedding shop, to be the wedding stylist. But the story goes from scene (or day, I’m not even sure, because the titles are a somewhat unclear per chapter) to scene to different characters, I’m constant struggling to keep up with the story.

For instance, we meet Kip, who has a brother who is supposedly well-known at the wedding shop. But since I don’t know the Penryn family, I really don’t understand the fuss and the dislike of Lily for Kip. So the whole chemistry thing between them is only very confusing.

In all, I’m sorry that I couldn’t relate to the story and like the characters. So, I’m afraid, only two out of five stars from me. And maybe, if you start at the first story, you’ll like this one better than I did.

Publisher: HarperImpulse

Published: May 2017

ISBN: 9780008190514

My Rating: ♥♥

Leave a Reply

