Scent of Danger – Desiree Holt

Kelly Monroe was shocked when her dog, Xena, a Caucasian Ovcharka seemed to bond at once with Rick Latrobe, a partner in the high profile Phoenix Agency. Ovcharkas are known for linking with only their owners. But Xena is picking up Rick’s wave length, very much aware when an attempt is made on Rick’s life and sensing all kinds of danger signals related to Rick’s current project: ferrying a shipment of arms to a private security cadre in Iraq. Rick is nearly killed when the shipment is stolen by terrorists who are hot on his trail. Only Kelly and Xena—coached by members of The Lotus Circle to expand the psychic link between the three of them—can keep him safe. As Rick scrambles to learn who’s behind the whole mess, the relationship he and Kelly have deepens. But Xena is the real star, not only signaling when danger is at hand but “sniffing” out the killers.

My Review

To be honest: I still am not quite sure what to think of the books of Desiree Holt. After reading Extrasensory I was having doubts. But when I saw the next parts in the series on Netgalley, my curiosity got the best of my and I had to know what would happen to Rick. Especially when I read from the blurb, that his life would be saved by a dog.

And yep, as a sceptic like me, this part of the story is very hard to believe. And yet, I still can’t seem to let the book go. Because the story reads very easily and you can’t help but fear for Rick’s life and try to help solve the puzzle. With a lot of twist and turns, tension build-up and of course also some sparks flying between Kelly and Rick the story is a great read. So, in all, four out of five stars from me and a special thank you to Netgalley for providing the arc.

And I must confess: I also requested Freeze Frame at Netgalley, the next part in the series… Sooooo, maybe the series just grows on me.

Publisher: Kindle Press

Published: July 2017

ISBN: 9781419932731

My Rating: ♥♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

